Featured Listings

scott county real estate

scott County website

Scott County was formed in 1853 from Dakota County and is one of the 7 counties that make up the Twin Cities Metro Area. It contains within its borders the cities of: Belle Plaine, New Market, Savage, Elko, New Prague, Shakopee, Jordan, Prior Lake. It also contains within its borders the minor civil divisions (MCDs) of: Belle Plaine, Jackson, Sand Creek, Blakely, Louisville, Savage, Cedar Lake, New Market, Shakopee, Credit River, Prior Lake, Spring Lake, Helena, Saint Lawrence. For more information be sure to visit the Scott County Historical Society webpages at http://www.scottcountyhistory.org/index.html

Established March 5, 1853, this county was named in honor of Gen. Winfield Scott, who was commander in chief of the U.S. Army from 1841 to 1861. He was born near Petersburg, Va., June 13, 1786, and died at West Point, N.Y., May 29, 1866; entered the army as a captain in 1808; served with distinction in the War of 1812 and was made a brigadier general and brevet major general in 1814; was chief commander in the Mexican War, 1847; and was an unsuccessful Whig candidate for president in 1852. General Scott visited Fort St. Anthony in the spring of 1824 for inspection of its construction, then completed, and on his recommendation its name was changed to Fort Snelling by a general order of the war department, January 7, 1825.

Cities in Scott County

Click on the Scott County Map to learn more about each city.


Copyright © Great Homes in Minneapolis. All Rights Reserved.