Featured Listings

anoka county real estate

Anoka County website

Click on the Anoka County map below for more information on the various cities in Anoka County


Anoka County has grown from a largely rural area in 1857 to the present day urban center. This urban center has diversified industrial, commercial, residential, and professional development. It is one of the largest and fastest growing counties in the State of Minnesota. Anoka County, with its county seat in Anoka, encompasses a 424 square mile area and has a population of approximately 298,084 (U.S. Census 2000).

See more demographic information.

Census graph


Anoka County is bounded by Isanti County on the north, Chisago and Washington Counties on the east, Ramsey and Hennepin Counties on the south, and Hennepin and Sherburne Counties on the west. It lies on both sides of the Rum River, which enters the county approximately 20 miles north of the City of Anoka.

Municipalities in Anoka County

  • Andover 
  • Anoka 
  • Bethel 
  • Blaine 
  • Burns 
  • Centerville 
  • Circle Pines 
  • Columbia Heights 
  • Columbus 
  • Coon Rapids 
  • East Bethel 
  • Fridley 
  • Ham Lake 
  • Hilltop 
  • Lexington 
  • Lino Lakes 
  • Linwood 
  • Oak Grove 
  • Ramsey 
  • St Francis 
  • Spring Lake Park


The history of Anoka County starts in 1849 when the Minnesota territorial legislature organized the counties of Washington, Ramsey and Benton. What is now Anoka County was embraced in both Ramsey and Benton Counties because the Rum River was the dividing line between the two counties.

As early as 1850, fur traders began to settle on the Rum River in the area now known as Ramsey. As more settlers came into the area, this thriving community was given the name Anoka. The name originated from the Indian language, meaning "on both sides."

In 1856, Sherburne County was detached from Benton County. That territory, lying east of Sherburne County and west of the Rum River, was also detached to become a part of Ramsey County. By an act of the legislature, Anoka County was formed from Ramsey County on May 23, 1857. The original eight townships included: Anoka, Watertown (Ramsey), Round Lake (Andover), Bethel, Columbus, St. Francis, Oak Grove and Centerville.

Anoka County MapThe original boundaries of Anoka County were the same as today except for a small portion of the southeastern tip of the county along the Mississippi River at the south. This strip was a tiny county created from Ramsey County the same day Anoka County was created. This tiny county was given the name of Manomin and occupied only about one-third of a congressional township. It functioned as an organized county until abolished and attached to Anoka County by constitutional amendment November 2, 1869. As an organized township of Anoka County, Manomin kept this name until it was changed to Fridley in 1879.

In 1877, the Board of County Commissioners voted to build a courthouse on the present site of the County Courthouse. The building was completed in January 1878. Starting in 1955 various construction projects have transformed the original Courthouse into the Anoka County Government Center and numerous other buildings including: Libraries, Highway Maintenance, Parks Administration and Human Services facilities.

Copyright © Great Homes in Minneapolis. All Rights Reserved.